Get To Know Me!

Hey all! Lyss here from Lemonade with Lyss. Today’s post will be a “Get to Know You” post. You will get to hear all about me — but that’s not all! In the comments section below, feel free to introduce yourself as well, so we can all get to know each other better! If you have any questions about me, don’t hesitate to post those in the comments section below.

My name is Alyssa (“Lyss” for short), and I am the first child in a family of nine — five humans, and four beloved pets! There’s Loki, my sister’s cat, Bjørn, the dog my dad and I share, Hemmelighed (“Hemi” for short), my Pacman Frog, and Gwin, my ferret! I have two younger siblings: my sister (the middle child) and my brother (the youngest).

Aside from my love for animals, I have several other hobbies, including writing (primarily novels, but also lyrics and poems as of recent), fire spinning (poi and nunchaku), music (mainly flute, but recently guitar as well), exercising for a couple hours a day, and reading. My favorite genres are mystery, fantasy, and thriller! However, I have trouble sitting still long enough to get into a book, so most of my reading is done on walks, at the gym, in the car (where I’m already forced to sit still), or while shopping with my family. I also love to learn languages, and a big goal of mine is to become a polyglot! 

I began to write when I was eight, and fell in love with everything to do with writing. My favorite way to write stories is to write the rough draft with a pen and a notebook (I’m not much of a pencil person), and then transfer it to Pages on my computer and edit it there. However, I have so many ideas and not enough time, so I have more than my fair share of notebooks with half-finished stories lying around the house, waiting for me to complete them. I’ve found that the best way for me to complete a 50,000-75,000 word novel is to find a week where I have two to three days off in a row and dedicate those to writing. With the aid of caffeine and junk food — as well as the bi-hourly quick walk to prevent me from going insane — I can get quite a bit accomplished in just 24-72 consecutive hours.

I am currently attending college online part-time while working part-time. As of current, my major is Psychology, but I may be changing majors if they don’t offer it online at my school. Most of my day (during the summer) is spent at work, with my animals, working on my stories, or on walks reading. Yes, I’m most definitely that person that reads while they’re walking, endangering everyone around them. And I have no shame! I like to think that after most of my life of experience, I’m pretty safe with it. However, I know some who would beg to differ. 😉

That’s all for me! Now it’s YOU time! Feel free to comment below with an introduction to yourself, or with any additional questions you may have for me.

As always, I’m excited to hear from you, and thank you for coming to Lemonade With Lyss! 


Hey all! Welcome to Lemonade with Lyss, where we talk about life — both the good times and the bad — and talk about how to make the most out of life. The reason I want to create this blog is to help share my story in the hopes that it will inspire others who are struggling. With the rise of technology, it is getting easier to be able to meet people from all around the world. This in turn makes it easier to find those who are searching for help, which is exactly what I want to do with this blog. It’s just as the proverbial phrase indicates: “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade!” I’m here to help turn others’ sour lemons into pleasant lemonade! Please feel free to comment below (I will do my best to get back to everyone) and remember: NO BULLYING! Bullying of any kind will NOT be tolerated here.

Thanks for choosing to read Lemonade with Lyss, and I hope to be able to meet many of you as we talk about life’s hardships and how to make the most of them!