Get To Know Me!

Hey all! Lyss here from Lemonade with Lyss. Today’s post will be a “Get to Know You” post. You will get to hear all about me — but that’s not all! In the comments section below, feel free to introduce yourself as well, so we can all get to know each other better! If you have any questions about me, don’t hesitate to post those in the comments section below.

My name is Alyssa (“Lyss” for short), and I am the first child in a family of nine — five humans, and four beloved pets! There’s Loki, my sister’s cat, Bjørn, the dog my dad and I share, Hemmelighed (“Hemi” for short), my Pacman Frog, and Gwin, my ferret! I have two younger siblings: my sister (the middle child) and my brother (the youngest).

Aside from my love for animals, I have several other hobbies, including writing (primarily novels, but also lyrics and poems as of recent), fire spinning (poi and nunchaku), music (mainly flute, but recently guitar as well), exercising for a couple hours a day, and reading. My favorite genres are mystery, fantasy, and thriller! However, I have trouble sitting still long enough to get into a book, so most of my reading is done on walks, at the gym, in the car (where I’m already forced to sit still), or while shopping with my family. I also love to learn languages, and a big goal of mine is to become a polyglot! 

I began to write when I was eight, and fell in love with everything to do with writing. My favorite way to write stories is to write the rough draft with a pen and a notebook (I’m not much of a pencil person), and then transfer it to Pages on my computer and edit it there. However, I have so many ideas and not enough time, so I have more than my fair share of notebooks with half-finished stories lying around the house, waiting for me to complete them. I’ve found that the best way for me to complete a 50,000-75,000 word novel is to find a week where I have two to three days off in a row and dedicate those to writing. With the aid of caffeine and junk food — as well as the bi-hourly quick walk to prevent me from going insane — I can get quite a bit accomplished in just 24-72 consecutive hours.

I am currently attending college online part-time while working part-time. As of current, my major is Psychology, but I may be changing majors if they don’t offer it online at my school. Most of my day (during the summer) is spent at work, with my animals, working on my stories, or on walks reading. Yes, I’m most definitely that person that reads while they’re walking, endangering everyone around them. And I have no shame! I like to think that after most of my life of experience, I’m pretty safe with it. However, I know some who would beg to differ. 😉

That’s all for me! Now it’s YOU time! Feel free to comment below with an introduction to yourself, or with any additional questions you may have for me.

As always, I’m excited to hear from you, and thank you for coming to Lemonade With Lyss! 

Leave a Reply